Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Gen 4 extended magazine release

Polymer

What is the consensus on the extended magazine release for gen 4 for production? There is minimal difference I feel like; only millimeter longer. And it is not possible to put large frame/glock 21 magazine release on the 34?

Edited by Polymer

I run one in my production 34 not really because I feel it gives a significant advantage but more just because it's legal. The part only costs about $5, you can get them from Dawson Precision, so I say why not. I have no experience with a large frame release in a small frame on gen 4 guns so hopefully someone else will chime in.

It's much less of a difference than the extended mag release on the Gen 3, but it does make a difference. I'm a lefty and use my trigger finger for the mag release. The non-extended Gen 4 mag release doesn't work so well for me, when I first switched to a Gen 4 I fumbled a bunch of reloads because of it. The extended mag release helps me a lot. On a Gen 3 I have no problems with the non-extended mag release.

Thanks for everyone's input so far. I'm asking to see if it's worthwhile to switch from gen 3 to gen 4 due to my inconsistent ability to reach the gen 3 mag release.

Another question, the 34 gen 4, does it already come with the extended mag release?

Edited by Polymer

Thanks for everyone's input so far. I'm asking to see if it's worthwhile to switch from gen 3 to gen 4 due to my inconsistent ability to reach the gen 3 mag release.

Another question, the 34 gen 4, does it already come with the extended mag release?

That depends. Most come with extended controls, an adjustable rear sight and a 4.5lb dot connector. Mine however was a blue label gun so it came with standard controls, a fixed rear sight and standard 5.5lb connector.