Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Just Call Me Charlie Mike

ArrDave

A very brief bit of background - I am a 3 year veteran of IDPA. After my last sanctioned match I wasn't thrilled at the quantity of competition. I shot very poorly and still was 30/201 and 4/12 in my class. It caused me to look at the quantity of masters shooting the match - of which there were maybe 8 or 10 across all the divisions...it made me think "I need to wade into the deep end of the talent pool and get some honest feedback of where I'm at". So my buddies and I decided the next match we would shoot would be the 2016 GA State Section match in August, which means we all needed USPSA numbers and classifications, which we got very soon afterwards.... Fast forward to today.

6/05/16

Atlanta Practical Shooters - Monthly USPSA Match - South River Gun Club

Match video:

Overall - I really enjoyed myself. I had pretty good points, if a little slow. I didn't flub any reloads. Stage plans were followed, even if they weren't great. I had a re-shoot on stage 4 due to someone not pasting one of my targets. I pretty well "crushed" the stage in my first run, and had a huge shooter induced malfunction because I activated my safety as I rebuilt my grip. That cost a LOT of time and I nearly DQ'd myself on my slippery gun, but I finally figured out the issue. So after the reshoot and I was reeling, I roll up on the next stage and have to shoot first. Lame! I don't think I recovered from that until a few moments ago. Anywho, stage breakdown -

I'm too tired to do some big write up on a stage by stage break down - but my big take aways were being more aggressive moving and getting set up and spend less time reading my sights. I would study my sights for a tenth or more before accepting the sight picture when I knew it was acceptable much faster. Moving is self explanatory, I'm used to setting up form cover in IDPA, and this isn't IDPA.