Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Favorite powder for 9mm Major in open pistols

Chillywig

I'm sure this has been beaten to death in various places but thought I do it again.

I am new to 9mm major and started with Silhouette because I had some on hand. I need to get more powder and thinking about trying something else. I know the Vihtavouri powders are supposed to be really good but are also more expensive and harder to find. Everyone talks about how dirty HS6 is. Any reason I should move away from Silhouette since I have a good load that seems to be working just fine.

9mm major MG 124hp 7.2gr Silhouette 1.140 OAL 172 PF

dot stays in the glass when shooting and does not seem ridiculously loud

Edited by Chillywig

• Replies 151
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Silhouette is pretty good, I would put it on par with Autocomp or CFE Pistol; HS6 might be a little dirtier, but I think it performs better than those faster powders. From your charge weight I assume you're shooting 124s, I strongly suggest trying 115s before changing powders. In my opinion there's no better load for 9 major than 9.3gr of 3N38 under a 115gr Montana Gold JHP.

Silhouette is pretty good, I would put it on par with Autocomp or CFE Pistol; HS6 might be a little dirtier, but I think it performs better than those faster powders. From your charge weight I assume you're shooting 124s, I strongly suggest trying 115s before changing powders. In my opinion there's no better load for 9 major than 9.3gr of 3N38 under a 115gr Montana Gold JHP.

you are correct

MG 124hp

https://www.hodgdon.com/PDF/Burn%20Rates%20-%202015-2016.pdf

I have a hard time telling what's better looking at different burn rate lists when they are all so close.

Anyone have real data how one preforms over another?