Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

617 No Go Bang

ede

617-2 very high milage, I'd guess 100,000+ rounds. It was Carmonized maybe 6-8 years ago. Started out maybe a year ago I'd get the occasional round not fire. I have the habit of running all my ammo I don't trust in the bottom feeders in the revolver so ammo quality had been a question. It seem to get worse when I started shooting a brick of Aqueila I got last year in it. At match yesterday I was having a miss fire or two on the first two stages. I switched to some Winchester I had with me I had never tried before. Two stages ran fine and I thought it was ammo related. On the last stage I had 6 or so rounds not fire. I had took the gun apart and ran it trrough my ultrasonic cleaner last weekend for it's every five year cleaning so there isn't much question about dirt being a problem. The firing pin marks looked a little on the light side and I'm running a factory firing pin. I'm guessing it's time for a new main spring in my limited knowledge of all thing revolver related. Any help or direction would be appriciated.

The 617s require a decent amount of mainspring tension to light off 22 ammo. Make sure your strain screw is tightened up all the way, maybe try a bang inc spring , or modify a stock.

Also, not all 22 ammo is created equally. Like primers in center fire, some work better than others. I stick with federal 22, but I also hear cci minimags work pretty well too.

With that many rounds through it I am going to assume all internal parts have worn themselves smooth and the cause has more to do with the main spring. A simple fix, however best to take to a reputable Gunsmith who will properly diagnose / repair. Had a 617 and did get the trigger poundage down to 9 via Bobbing Hammer, Custom forming Springs and smoothing internals. Not really worth the effort effort I put into it as there are no known competitions for a 22 Revo.

via Bobbing Hammer