Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How to transistion faster in Steel Challenge?

Hey guys, I've been shooting steel challenge matches for about 1 1/2 years. I practiced a lot in my back yard steel range before I ever shot my 1st match. My score on 5 stages on my 1st match was about 116.

A year later "now" I'm shooting low 80's for 5 stages. I've got a goal of reaching mid 70's.

My draw and 1st hit is pretty good from dry fire practice but I know my target transitions are slow. My best string even on smoke and hope has been a 2.48, and that was with a .8x draw and 1st hit. I can watch myself on videos and I simply transistion too slow. I'm 51 years old and I can't tell if I'm hesitant on taking the shot or my body just don't do what it use to. I always shoot better taking my time Over spray and pray but I really want that 7x score. Any tips on transitions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Tony

Edited by Speedsouthshooting

Smoke and hope is actually a bad example of how anyone shoots Steel Challenge. Most people are just point shooting that stage which tends to lead to sloppy shooting. A better example to judge your times would be Roundabout since you actually have to aim at the plates. If you look at many of the top shooters, their Roundabout times are almost the same as S&H. I don't even practice S&H since I think it only teaches you sloppy point and shoot type shooting.

That being said, the way I learned to speed up is to lead with my eyes. Meaning that I once I call my shot on a plate I jump my eyes to the next plate. The gun will follow and your dot/sights will usually show up exactly where you are looking on the next plate. Also, practice getting your gun to the next plate as fast as you can. Getting it there faster will give you extra time to settle your dot or sights before breaking the next shot. Hope that makes sense.

^^^^ that's good!