Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Original P16-40 Limited, new Mecgar magazine question

jrswanson1

I have an older, made in Canada P16-40 Limited. When I purchased said pistol five years ago, it came with three OEM mags. I picked up four Mecgar mags, which hold 16 rounds. Since I started shooting USPSA Limited last year, I decided to pick up three new Mecgar mags. The newer Mecgar mags only hold 15 rounds and have flat, steel bases. Who makes extended bases for these mags? I haven't handled any of the Remington P16-40s, so I don't know if they went with skinnier magazines, hence the question. Thanks.

Dawson

https://dawsonprecision.com/basepad-hicap-for-para-extended-tool-less-design-by-dawson-precision/

read here first

https://cdn6.bigcommerce.com/s-5t3ceeio/product_images/uploaded_images/paramagtubedimensions.jpg?t=1445692892

If the tubes are too short these mags will work

http://gregcotellc.com/cart/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=160&products_id=1612

I'm using these with the dawson basepad

Or get a few SPS or MBX

I have both, both work.

Edited by theKenny

MBX are pricey but they work. Love mine for my 18-9 & 16-40.

Mecgar's I bought were the 9mm/38super and did not work when loaded to 15.

Tried putting spacers in them and still did not work reliable. In the range bag for practice.

• 1 month later...

I didn't have the scratch for the Dawson's so I picked up two Arredondo +4 extensions from Midway, since I got a birthday discount. I tried them on the newer Mecgar mags. Nope, won't lock in. They work fine with the flat metal base, but no love with the extensions. I switched the extensions to the older Mecgars, and they work. But they only add +2. Cutting off part of the fingers on the plastic plate lets me run 19, but the follower gets stuck. No need to put a new spring in. But that still leaves me with two 15 round mags and no way to make them longer. Looks like I'll have to get those ACT mags if I want something bigger.