Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Time at the range has gone from fun to frustration

lvipscshooter

I know there are already several posts out there like this, but as in those, I wanted to create my own.

I have been shooting competitively in USPSA for @ 5 years. I just achieved a M classification, but feel I have been shooting well below my ability recently.

I feel part of it is I do not have as much time to train as I had in the past or as most of the better shooters in my class. Knowing that, I have developed a defeatist attitude that I will never be as competitive as I was in the lower classes.

Part of that problem is I am super competitive, and strive to be the best at whatever I do. Good performance trumps everything for me. When my best is 35th overall and 11th in my class at a major match, I feel like a failure

I don't want to continue throwing money at this sport and being away from home every weekend and coming away stressed and depressed. I have fun hanging out at the range with everyone but have gotten to the point of hating that I actually have to shoot

Opinions here. Should I just switch divisions (of course there lies the not enough time thing training to be competitive in new division), take a break, or just walk away and do something else?

Please keep in mind my fun level is based on performance (sad I know but it is what it is). If I go to the range just to shoot and hang out with "the gang", I'd rather go plink or just stop by the match to say hi and not shoot

I have never put much stock in how I do in my 'class'. Beating a bunch of other guys that also don't train enough to move up is not 'winning'.

Are you improving? if not, why not?