Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

KelsonAK

KelsonAK

Yea, have been resisting doing this for about a year or so. In part because I didn't know what I didn't know. In part because it seemed a bit narcissistic.

Well... I've been playing some sort of shooting game for 2 years now - first F class and then 3 Gun and now add in USPSA and Steel Challenge. And I am beginning to know what I don't know.

So... backup into July. Had been shooting Limited and 'Tac Optics' (vs Tac Ops which is something very Xboxish) with an M&P Pro in .40 that morphed a bit over time. Had installed the goodies - flat Apex trigger, blah blah blah. Thing is - I was never happy with the precision it could deliver. Did I actually miss that long steel, or did the gun 'help' me out. Yea - truth is I actually missed that long steel. But I digress.

And.... I've always wanted a Tanfoglio. Like - for 15 years or so. I remember seeing them in magazines when I was 'younger' and got to shoot a 10mm Witness about 10 years ago and... well. Want more than need. So got a Stock 3 just in time to go to the Sectional match in Fairbanks. Really - like the week before the sectional. Put about 2-300 rounds through it - re-affirmed my 'love affair' with how the pistol felt - and went off to the 'banks to do really fairly poorly at the sectional match. When I say poorly - I'm referencing my times, not my points. A LOT of A's. Within a couple A's of the GM that won the match generally - but taking twice as long to do it. A few gun issues. Hindsight that should have been a 'duh' - but I had been shooting an M&P which I am convinced doesn't actually need cleaning unless you bleed on it - and the Tanfo is tight.

Move forward a week's worth of dry fire and some live fire practice and the next 'major' (this is AK after all) match - and my times improve significantly, points stay high, and I move from bottom 3rd to top 3rd in production. Sure - a different mix of competitors, but I did MUCH better.