Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

John's New Shooter Journey

BenBreeg

A little about my background, I've been shooting for about 14 years or so but as far as handguns, I never really did much more than go to the range, shoot the ammo I brought at paper targets, and go home. Shot local league trap for a while but some other things like kids and grad school put an end to that. Have been wanting to get into USPSA for a while so now I have begun the journey.

So far have a G34 with Sevigny FO front, and plain black rear. East Huntington had an orientation class last week and it was really helpful for me. Even though much of the classroom stuff is available online it was nice to have some guys to ask questions to for clarification. The best part was that everyone got to shoot three stages if they wanted. I have been dry firing but that was the first time going through a stage for me.

I learned quite a few things. One, my gun is fine. As much as I like to tinker and there is a lot of talk on here about gun setup, I think the sights were the appropriate upgrade and that guide rods, springs, aftermarket triggers, etc. are not money well spent for me at this point. I actually shot pretty well and was really surprised how easy the FO sight was to see.

Another thing was how, once the beeper went off, it was really different. I actually had no trouble staying on the front sight, it was just kind of there. But physically moving felt slow to me. I wasn't trying to go fast at all but I just felt like I was moving in molasses.

So the plan is to shoot a match in the next few weeks and get more structured with my dry fire. I have big hands but I am not releasing the mag all the time. I have the big backstrap on and may see if the med changes the way my thumb engages the release. I have Ben Stoeger's books so I should be able to put together a program that makes sense.

I will update my progress, see you soon!