Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Why don't we have "2 gun" competitions?

I have been shooting local pistol matches for a few months now and have enjoyed watching 3 gun nation on tv. But it seems to me that if you were really in a shoot out you wouldn't have three guns, you would have two. Either your shotgun or your rifle and your pistol. I would think that a "two gun" match would be very fun and a little more likely to occur in real life.

I'm thinking that the match would start with rifle or shotgun depending on stage design and shooter preference, and at some point you would switch to hand gun. Obviously some stages could be set up to favor shotgun and others to favor rifle. Maybe instead of ditching your long gun you would even keep it slung on your person as you transitioned to pistol.

How fun would that be? And its one less gun to buy to start off with.

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Central Florida R & P Club in Orlando has MultiGun matches -

You can use rifle, pistol or shotgun - they're designed to shoot

all three guns, but you don't have to ...

I just shot the last two matches pistol only ...

Match before that I used pistol and rifle only.

You're right - it's a LOT of fun. :cheers:

Not strictly a 2 gun match, but the uspsa pistol match I run every month has a 2 stage side match, usually rifle sometimes shotgun. I am sure there are other clubs that do this, easy to set up and probably only adds 1 hour or so to our match duration.

Shotgun and pistol only matches would be great for clubs that have ranges that are to small to allow rifles.

If you can shoot pistols you can shoot rifles just throw up paper targets no steel. Use reduced sized targets if you want to simulate distance.

Pat

There is such a thing. They have started to legitimize themselves now through a new National Body: USCA

I would be more interested in "Outlaw 3-Gun style" 2-gun.

USCA seems a little "tactical" for me.