Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Swingers

brongy

I have been having difficulty with swingers on how to engage them im still a novice with just a few match experiences. So i would like to ask the pros here. How do you train for swingers. I simply cant do a double tap on them i seem to get lost once the first shot is fired i then have to wait for the target to swing back from the starting point.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No pro by any means here...but this is what I try to do...

During the walkthrough, have the RO activate the swinger and watch where the target stops before it goes the other way. Then when you go to shoot the stage, remember where that sweet spot was. Activate the target and put your sights in that spot and wait for the target to appear and you should be able to get a shot or two on it...but your sights need to be where the target will stop.

The method described above is what I did for years. It is called trapping. You will notice that most of the top shooters "track" swingers. It takes some practice and a little dedication, but it is very worth the results.

Tracking is moving the gun with the target and breaking your two shots. The danger zones are at the stop and or disappear. However, this method gives you more time to shoot As instead of winging 2 or 3 shots and hoping they are there. I just started using this method this year and I had mostly As on the swingers at nationals. I had a D that I picked up with an A. In the "trap" method, I would not have picked up those extra points.

It took me some practice with match ammo and maybe 100 rounds to get it down.

In my Manny Bragg class he taught tracking the swinger. It works. So does trapping it, to an extent. I kinda do both, my first shot is usually during the dwell/pause at the end of the stroke and then coming out of the stroke. I see each shot.