Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Anyone Running 2-7x in 3-Gun?

mulrick

So I have been running a 1-4 Burris mtac30 on my dedicated 3-gun rig. Ill be honest, I haven't been impressed, I know it is a cheap 1-4 so I wasn't expecting much, but it really isn't a true 1x so I have been rolling to my Dueck Defense sights for everything in the 1-15+ yard range. I have really been getting faster using this and it got me thinking that I might be well served with a 2-7x scope, I shoot 3-gun in places where we can regularly have stages with 300+ yard shots and the extra mag is nice to have. I have thought about the new Leupold 1-8x but at almost $3k its a little hard to swallow considering that's about what my rifle costs, and I'm no professional.

I have been looking at the Leupold VX-R 2-7x33 with the balistic fire dot. I like that it is 30mm, illuminated, and light weight (12.7oz) plus it seems to get favorable reviews. Also at just below the $500 mark, it seems like one of the best deals

So anyone else out there running 2-7? Id love to hear what you have to say.

You will find that almost all except for a few of the Open shooters are running 1x-4,6 or 8x. I believe that you might find a few Open guys running higher magnification scopes with mini-red-dots mounted in some type of offset configuration like the Warne RAMP, etc. I recently had a conversation about this with a shooting buddy and we discussed the possibility of him putting a 2 or 2.5x-10 or 12x on a 3G rig and adding 45 degree sights, but for now at least, I am going to stick with my 1-6.5x.

I get that. I might stick with the 1-4. I have a brand new 3-gun upper that is in pieces right now that I need to put together. I might try the 2-7x and see if I like it... if not, it can go on my longer range SPR type rifle.

I just got into multi-gun & not doing real well, and wondering the same thing.

I was thinking of trying 2x7 as my only sight - just wondering