Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shooting/working

RangerTrace

I've been doing this for a few years now. To be exact, I shot my first match in February 2008. Still, even with a few years of experience, I get a little pre-match nervousness even before club matches. It's not that I don't have fun, but I'm extremely type "A", want to win, etc, etc.....

So, I appreciate the fact that this is a volunteer sport and we ALL have to give a little to keep the ball rolling. In the DFW area, we've had the same group of folks giving A LOT of themselves for a while. They haven't complained, but I felt like it was time for me to give a little more to the Sport that gives me so much enjoyment. Ultimately, I became the VP of the North Texas Practical Shooters club of which I'm extremely proud to be associated with.

Last Sunday was the first match (because of the weather) that I've been able to attend/work. Let's just say I had no idea how much work/stress was involved with the new year registration process. Deron Wood knew every one's name. He knew how much they owed for this or for that....I didn't know much of anything :roflol:

What I'm sure about is that it had a very distinct affect on my match performance. I felt rushed and uncomfortable with the first stage because I was the 2nd shooter and it kinda snow balled from there.....

I'm sure there are MANY of you who know exactly what I'm talking about. It tempts me to simply work our match and shoot other club matches, but I don't have time to waste.

Comments, suggestions?