Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Crown on 12ga shell

caz41

I am fairly new to reloading shotgun and have ran into a little problem. As you can see in the picture I attached the top of the shell is somewhat crowned out. I have fiddled around and can't seem to find a fix.

I am using a MEC sizemaster 12ga.post-22235-127111029026_thumb.jpg

Did you have a picture of the top(crimp) of the shell. The hull also looks to be one of the cheaper promo hulls which I have seen have some problems getting a good crimp as well as being 2 piece. For reloading, the STS hulls are hard to beat

the machines from what ive been told are basically set up for win AA hulls anything else you will end up with lessthan desireable results, those shells would work fine in an O/U but an autoloader it may have probs feeding...

not knowing what your load is, you can tweak the depth seater(itsthe one after the shot dispenser on my 9000) take that down a couple of turns might solve the crowning problem...

Did you have a picture of the top(crimp) of the shell. The hull also looks to be one of the cheaper promo hulls which I have seen have some problems getting a good crimp as well as being 2 piece. For reloading, the STS hulls are hard to beat

It does the same with other brands/types of hulls.

the machines from what ive been told are basically set up for win AA hulls anything else you will end up with lessthan desireable results, those shells would work fine in an O/U but an autoloader it may have probs feeding...

not knowing what your load is, you can tweak the depth seater(itsthe one after the shot dispenser on my 9000) take that down a couple of turns might solve the crowning problem...

After the shot dispenser is the pre-crimp or starter crimp. Is that what you are refering to?